Skip to content ↓
Walthamstow School for Girls

The Online LRC

Using the school LRC computer system from home

Our LRC system, Microlibrarian.net, is available for you to use at home. All students have been emailed with their own log in and the system is accessible via the school website and this link http://u004014.microlibrarian.net/

There are links to external websites which can support homework and are suitable for the age group of all students across the school.

We hope you enjoy using the system and feel free to add reviews about the books you are reading,

Join your local library online ...

A library membership can open up a new world of possibilities for you. A Waltham Forest library card will give you access to:

  • over six million books, eBooks and eAudiobooks across 170 London library branches, at the click of a button — via the Waltham Forest Libraries Arena website or our library app
  • thousands of information resources and reference materials, including family history research tools, business and legal resources, and various newspapers, magazines and eMagazines
  • free Wi-Fi and PC computer use in the borough’s eight libraries
  • a range of online courses, including language lessons, driving theory test preparation and computer skills lessons

Many of our libraries host a range of free community events and activities. To keep up-to-date and get involved, please subscribe to our mailing list.

To register for a library card or manage your existing membership, visit the Waltham Forest Libraries Arena website.

Recommended websites for readers

www.bbc.co.uk/arts/books - Select ‘Children' & click on ‘Authors' for titles, author information and live interviews – including favourites like J K Rowling & J Wilson

www.cool-reads.co.uk - Lots of new titles for 10-15 year olds and you can send in your own reviews

www.mrsmad.com - Great books for children, young adults, parents, teachers and librarians, with reviews and ratings, games, stories and jokes.

http://www.literacytrust.org.uk/ - The National Literacy Trust

4uReaders.net  www.4ureaders.net                                                       

The Bookbag www.thebookbag.co.uk                                                          

Bookbox www.channel4.com/bookbox                                                             

Bookheads www.bookheads.org.uk                                                                

Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Awards www.carnegiegreenaway.org.uk                    

Children’s Authors TV www.childrensauthors.tv                                            

Children’s Book Sequels www.childrensbooksequels.co.uk                          

Children’s Poetry Bookshelf www.childrenspoetrybookshelf.co.uk                    

Comic Book Resources www.comicbookresources.com                                          

Cool Reads (now archived) www.cool-reads.co.uk                                         

EnCompass Culture (British Council) www.encompassculture.com                       

Great Books to Read Aloud www.greatbookstoreadaloud.co.uk                                

International Children’s Digital Library www.icdlbooks.org                                          

Kids’ Review www.kidsreview.org.uk                                                             

Love Reading 4 Kids wwwlovereading4kids.co.uk                                            

Mrs Mad’s Book-a-Rama www.mrsmad.com                                                             

Reading Matters www.readingmatters.co.uk                                                      

Stories from the Web www.storiesfromtheweb.org                                            

Teen Reads www.teenreads.com  

Teen Ink http://teenink.com/Books  

Turn to Page 1 www.turn2page1.com  

Chicklish http://keris.typepad.com/chicklet  

The B Word http://www.the-b-word.co.uk  

Spinebreakers http://www.spinebreakers.co.uk  

Groupthing http://groupthing.org  

Teen Today http://www.teentoday.co.uk/articles/category/books  

Inside a Dog http://www.insideadog.com.au  

Reading Rants http://www.readingrants.org

Awards