Skip to content ↓
Walthamstow School for Girls

Key Stage 4

Walthamstow School for Girls aims to provide a personalised curriculum that allows all students to fulfil their personal and academic potential, and provides students with the best possible progression opportunities.

All students study 9 GCSEs over the 2 year course: 5 subjects within the core curriculum and 4 free choice option subjects. The choices available to students are set out in January each year in our Options Booklet. We understand that every child is different and so we draw on our knowledge of their strengths and weaknesses to provide them with high quality information, advice and guidance to inform their curriculum choices at GCSE and to ensure a seamless progression through the school.

The Core Curriculum

The Core Subjects are those that every student in Year 10 and 11 studies.

They are:

  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Combined Science
  • Religious Studies
  • PHSE
  • PE

Curriculum time allocations at Key Stage 4 (Years 10 to 11)

The current allocation of time across subjects is shown in the tables below, which illustrates the number of taught periods across each two week timetable cycle:

(9 periods)

(8 periods)

Combined Science
(9 periods)

(2 periods)

Religious Studies
(1 period)

(1 period)

Option 1
(5 periods)

Option 2
(5 periods) 

Option 3
(5 periods)

Option 4
(5 periods)